New Beginnings

My post today won’t be filled with tons of beautiful photos. It won’t be filled with fun little things about each session. It is going to be just me getting personal and talking about those things that I love.

I have been contemplating for the last couple weeks on switching my business over to shooting only weddings and seniors. Why? Because thats what I LOVE to do. I am beyond nervous as all creatives are when thinking about making such a switch but I think in the end it will be what is best for me.

Of course I’m nervous I’ll loose clients or even some friends. Of course there is a chance that I’ll cave and end up shooting children or families to those repeat clients that mean so much to me. But I think over all making this switch is definitely what my business needs to strive. I feel like I need to follow my heart and push myself to make this switch.

Why weddings?

Let me tell you, weddings are a TON of work. Trust me, I could go crazy with how many hours I sit at my desk editing weddings but I don’t. I don’t go crazy because I honestly love doing it. Being able to photograph two people on one of the most important days of their lives is magical. It’s like I get to finally see that Disney princess marry her prince and I get to capture it all so these lovely couples can remember those moments forever.

I get to be the one behind the scenes, seeing your wedding day from an outsiders point of view. I get to capture you crying to your mom with tears of happiness after you see yourself get into your dress. I get to see the groom worrying that his boutonnière isn’t put on right and how upset she will be if it isn’t. I get to see the parents scurrying around trying to make this day the best day of their child’s life. It is an amazing feeling being in that position. It is a scary position, but amazing none the less.

Plus, seeing such a strong bond between two people is just beautiful. Seeing how much they can really love each other and being able to see that shine through in their photos just gives me so much more joy and pride in this job

So why weddings? Because, why not?

 

Now I’m sure you’re wondering,

Why Seniors? 

Hmm seniors. They are something else. Working one on one with a senior is really my chance to let them shine. They get to be who they really want to be and more. Seniors are probably my all time favorite subject to shoot. I don’t know if its because most of them are just a few years younger than I am or what but I always just have to much fun!

A few great things about shooting seniors is all the hype we get before the session even starts. Planning outfits, figuring out those perfect locations, talking about hair and make up and the list goes on and on. Once the session actually starts, we are prepared to do what it takes to get that perfect shot.

I love that most of my seniors really care about the input that I have in their session. They trust my judgement and are willing to let me take control on certain poses and locations! We always have so much fun, and my seniors always get really into it! My goal for shooting seniors is giving them the best experience they have ever had and something that they will remember for the rest of their lives.

Watching a senior go through their images in awe after I have wrapped everything up and finished them all gives me some sort of giddy feeling. Some awesome feeling of accomplishment. The looks on their faces and of course their parents faces is one of the best feelings in the world. Knowing how happy they are about their images and figuring out their favorites of the group really makes me see why this job is so worth it. Why its so worth all the time and effort I put in to make it such a wonderful experience for them. I love hearing about how much they love their images even after their session is over!

So here I am to say it. I will be switching over permanently in the summer sometime this year. I’m sure some of you have noticed subtle changes to the website and other social media platforms but I want you not to worry. I will still be taking family sessions for the rest of this year! I will also be offering different mini sessions throughout the year 🙂 I’ve got a lot of fun things planned for the littles!
Right now I’ve got  Lemonade Stand Minis scheduled for June 5th. I have slots available so if you’d like to book for that you just let me know!

I will also be running a few other minis throughout the year such as
Free Fair Minis- Ionia Free fair
Back to School Minis/Fall Minis
Hot Chocolate stand Minis
Holiday PJ Minis
Christmas Minis
and who knows what other ideas I’ll have coming up over the year!

 

Thanks everyone for reading!

Leave a comment